Clark College Student Ambassadors

Home » Ambassadors 2016-2017 » My Journey to Becoming a Student Ambassador

My Journey to Becoming a Student Ambassador

Hello Penguins,

My first year here I was a running start student,  and I loved it. I had so much freedom, only went to class a couple hours a week and took classes that interested me. However, something was missing. I came to Clark for class then went straight home. I only went to my high school to get my tuition waiver signed and pick up graduation items. I did not really fit into any category. I was not a high school student anymore, but I was not really a college student either. At least that is what it felt like. I decided I wanted to be involved. I wanted to make my time at Clark count, but I really did not know what that meant either. One day while I was on Twitter, Clark retweeted a post and the word ambassador intrigued me. I mean who doesn’t want the title as an ambassador. I found out it was a paid position, had flexible hours, and an ambassador helped students. It was perfect! I decided to apply, and once I found out I got the job, I was overjoyed.

Months after actually being hired is when training started, and I am not going to lie; I was intimated. There was so much information to learn in the week of training! But as soon as we started working at the desk on the first day of fall classes, it came natural. The first day flew by. We helped so many students; I couldn’t believe it. But this one person stood out to me. He accidentally scheduled his classes back to back at the CTC campus and the main campus. I sat with him at the computer, and we went through and changed his whole scheduled. He kept thanking me and said he could not have done it without me. It was my first day, and I had already made a difference.

Since then I have helped countless students. Anything from helping students walk through the application process with a step

Ambassadors Makayla & Michaela

by step guide, giving tours and opening up student’s eyes about the college experience, or helping students who are coming back to school for the first time in twenty years. It is all rewarding. I finally felt like I fit in somewhere. I was excited to go to work; it helped that I loved my hours. After class I’d just  grab some lunch, change my shirt, and just like that I’d be working. Everyone in the Welcome Center are the nicest people you’ll ever meet. They truly inspires me to be the best version of myself.

Being a college student can be extremely challenging. Don’t make it harder on yourself by running back and forth from your job and school, or trying to change your class time to fit your work schedule. I love working at Clark, and I bet you will too. Don’t miss out on this amazing opportunity! Stop by the information desk or the Welcome Center in Gaiser Hall and grab an application or just ask us more questions on everything we do!

Posted by Ambassador Makayla

Leave a Reply

