Clark College Student Ambassadors

Home » Ambassadors 2016-2017 » Abi » Student Leadership: The Life of an Ambassador

Student Leadership: The Life of an Ambassador

I did not feel like I had a huge impact or connection with Clark College before becoming a Student Ambassador. My first year at Clark provided a good learning experience, but there were so many moments where I felt overwhelmed, alone, and clueless to where I could go for help. I knew there had to be resources and exciting opportunities that I was missing just because I did not know where to look. Reflecting back on my journey, I realize I needed to be more proactive about getting involved.

I remember the first time I came to campus I spotted a sign inside Gaiser Hall that advertised the Student Ambassador Program. I went into the Welcome Center to ask more questions, and found out that I needed to be a student for one quarter before applying for the position. I was intrigued because I love leadership opportunities and I knew the job would challenge me in ways I needed to be challenged. So, I waited for the first full year and kept this idea in the back of my mind. The following year I saw that they were hiring so I inquired again, and began the application process.

From my beginning experiences alone, I could tell this was a perfect position for me. Before I was even interviewed I had to meet with Career Services and format a professional resume which I did not know how to do. I went through an official interview which I will now draw from for future job opportunities, and attended in depth training that opened my eyes to Clark’s vast community. I could not have imagined how many resources Clark has to offer, but also how much work goes into every department, class, and event.

As the academic year comes to a close I can say that my job as a Student Ambassador has vastly improved my overall college experience. If I compare the two years I’ve been attending Clark, there are major differences in my attitude toward the school, but also a change in the way I approach my academic achievements. I’ve learned that it is imperative to make connections with whatever community you find yourself a part of. I have had the opportunity to meet with the Clark’s President, Washington State Government Members, and equally as important, other students. As exciting as it is to meet people with great influence, I find the most enjoyment in serving our student body and helping others make the connections I wish I had made sooner.

If you want to get involved, I would highly recommend asking yourself “why”? If it’s just to make money or have a convenient job location, then this might not be the best fit for you. You need to be driven to serve others, and willing to step outside of your comfort zone. Being a Student Ambassador means we represent Clark College and are often the first people potential students will see. It is our responsibility to make a great impression, and set the examples of leadership that exceed Clark’s standards.

Posted by Ambassador Abigail

Leave a Reply

