Clark College Student Ambassadors

Home » Ambassadors 2016-2017 » Abi » Clark’s Music Program

Clark’s Music Program

Hello again Penguin Nation!

I am so excited to tell you all a little bit about Clark’s musical resources and share my passion for music with you.

Chorale Choir

Chorale Choir

I have been a choral singer for 6 years now, beginning in high school and now continuing for the two years I’ve attended Clark. Before getting involved with music, I struggled with the question every student meets at some point in their education: what career is right for me? Once I joined choir in high school, I knew I found what I was passionate about and what I could pursue for the rest of my life. Ever since then I encouraged others to try choir or pick up an instrument and here is why:

Music is highly therapeutic. Even if your journey takes you down a career path that is not art-based, music can be an outlet to use for personal growth and peace of mind amidst the stress of everyday life. I have been a personal witness to the power of community, trust, and passion that music can inspire; and while it, like everything else, takes practice, it is a truly rewarding tool to utilize self-expression.  Beyond the jobs we will have and the education we can achieve, we have to remember to take care of our bodies and minds. I feel that music is one of the few things that simultaneously heals individuals and touches all, thus connecting people across seemingly impossible boundaries.

One thing I hear from people who I encourage to join a choir is that they are not confident enough in their musical ability or singing voice. Fortunately, choir re-teaches us how to sing in a very different way than a solo would allow. We learn to sing as a team in choir, which means we don’t try to solo or stick out. This idea not only makes the choir sound wonderful, but is one of the quickest ways to build a bond with others. Please think about getting involved with music in some way, even if it’s just for fun.

The music department at Clark College is located in Beacock Music Hall on our main campus. They offer beginning piano and guitar classes, as well as applied abi01instrument and voice lessons that allow more advanced students one-on-one time with a professor to enhance their musical skills. The building holds individual practice rooms each with its own piano. There are classrooms and large rehearsal rooms where our choirs and bands practice, including the offices of music professors and the music department’s main office.

We have three choirs on campus: Concert Choir, Women’s Ensemble, and Chorale. We also have a Concert Band, Jazz Ensemble, and Symphony Orchestra for those who play an instrument. If you are interested in any of the classes or music groups I’ve mentioned, feel free to contact Shelly Williams at (360) 992-2662.

Before I go, I wanted to let you all know what days the Concert Choir is performing since I will be singing. We perform in the O’Connell Sports Center gymnasium on December 4th at 3:00pm. Admission is free and the Concert Band is performing as well.

I really hope to see you there to support our music department!

Posted by Ambassador Abigail

Posted by Ambassador Abigail

 

 

Leave a Reply

