Clark College Student Ambassadors

Home » Uncategorized » Hiking for Homeless Heroes

Hiking for Homeless Heroes

HikingforHomeless1If you drive around Vancouver, it wont take long until you see someone with a cardboard sign that reads “Homeless Vet”. As a fellow service member, I’d hate to think of one my brothers or sisters, past or present, sleeping on the streets while I stood by and did nothing to help.

Kelly Jones, manager of the Veteran Resource Center at Clark, told me about someone who was already working towards solving that problem. Michael Stacy is a United States Navy veteran and founder of the nonprofit PureKraze. Stacy has the land we need for housing the homeless but not enough funds to start building homes.

That’s where I come in.

This Friday, May 20th, I’m going to to be carrying a 100 lbs pack from 8 am to 3 pm around the main Clark College campus. I will be following the blue Penguin Pathway loop, recording the number of laps that I complete. I already have people pledging to donate money per mile I walk, and a few committed to pledge a one-time donation.

Even though we’re making great strides in aiding the homeless Veterans of Vancouver, we still need all the help we can get. I would be grateful if you could donate, or if you told your friends and family about what I was doing. More importantly, I want people to know that we have homeless veterans in Vancouver, and they need our help.

So come out and find me on Friday! The starting point of my walk will be outside the library. I’m going to have a table set up with more information about the homes we want to build, the Veteran Resource Center, and cool events the Veteran Club has coming up (Yes, we have a veteran club on campus. Yes, you should join. No, you don’t have to be a veteran to join).

I’d love to have some company for a few laps and get some posts shared on social media. See you soon,

LCPL J.

Posted by Ambassador Christian

Posted by Ambassador Christian

Leave a Reply

