Clark College Student Ambassadors

Home » Uncategorized » Perks of Being a Student Ambassador

Perks of Being a Student Ambassador

Being an ambassador this year has been an incredible adventure. I was able to learn everything there is to know about each office on campus, where some of the best events on campus were happening, and was able to assist hundreds of students as they pursued their education. Everything Melia and Jose said couldn’t be more accurate; the staff we work with is phenomenal, you will make friends all across campus, and they always make sure to put your classes before everything else.

However, I’ve been able to do some pretty cool stuff for myself too.

Christian meeting Governor Inslee

Christian meeting Governor Inslee

First off, I had the pleasure of meeting Jay Inslee! Let me save you a google search, that’s our governor (shame on you for not knowing)! Since I’m an ambassador and we represent the college, it was only fitting that Melia and I welcome him to the college. Being able to talk to our very own governor was really exciting, especially because I’m planning on getting my degree in political science.

I was invited to speak in front of Clark College’s board of trustees. I was honored to be considered a “student success story.” However, I can’t help but feel a bit like Loki…

But really, being invited to represent our campus and speak to such an important group of people was a very humbling experience. I have to thank the ambassador team who came out to support me, especially Spencer since I stole his water bottle before going up to the podium.

Being an ambassador really helped get my story out to the administrators. I was fortunate enough to receive the President’s Award from Clark’s President, Robert Knight, at the Students Serving Washington Award’s ceremony. I wouldn’t have been able to be so active and involved on campus if I hadn’t been able to serve as an ambassador this year.

Christian's awardThere aren’t many jobs that can give back to you for the work you put in like this one does. To be entirely honest though, this was such a rewarding experience that knowing what I know now, I would have done it for free. But getting paid for it wasn’t bad either.

Help your community. Help your peers. Help yourself. Apply to become a student ambassador today.

 

Posted by Ambassador Christian

Posted by Ambassador Christian

 

Leave a Reply

