Clark College Student Ambassadors

Home » Uncategorized » Part 1: Life as a Student Ambassador

Part 1: Life as a Student Ambassador

Christian & MeliaI cannot believe it’s already Spring! For Clark College’s Welcome Center and Associated Students of Clark College that means Melia & Spencer2applications for leadership positions are now available!!! I am so excited for you future Penguin leaders and I will tell you why.

I have had the privilege of being a Student Ambassador for the 2015-2016 year. I cannot express what an honor it has been being able to work under the supervision of Amy Tam and being able to create such strong work connections with not only staff from the Welcome Center, but with staff from many of Clark’s offices. (The Assessment Center, Registration, Security, Student Life, Diversity Center, Running Start, Veterans Affairs, and many more – including being able to officially meet many of the staff from the student affairs office including the President of Clark College, Bob Knight, as well as the Vice President of Student Affairs, Bill Belden. Which is super cool if you ask me.

Ambassadors - Seaside2
My student ambassador position has been and continues to be a learning experience every step of the way. I am lucky enough to work along side two returning Student Ambassadors (Patricia and Daniel). They have been really great mentors to myself and my co-workers. It is comforting to know that if I have a question or concern about work, I not only have an approachable friendly supervisor, I also have Daniel and Patricia showing me the ropes. As my co-workers and I learn the different responsibilities and expectations of an ambassador throughout the year, we have been able to turn to one another if there are ever any questions or concerns.

Michael & MeliaAn ambassador position requires commitment, leadership, and interpersonal skills. My work schedule is planned around my class schedule each quarter, which is the best thing I could have ever asked for. This job has a wide range of different responsibilities. I take students and prospective students on tours, I help students apply for Clark and register for classes, and I am given different opportunities to attend leadership trainings throughout the year. But my ambassador position is definitely not limited to those three things. I answer general questions students may have at the Information Desk located in Gaiser Hall. I get to interact with staff at Clark daily and help with events that Clark puts on. I  get to represent Clark College at different community and campus events. Each week my work obligations look a little different than the week before. I absolutely love the fact that my job is not limited to one specific thing.


As I end my blog, I need to say that this position has not only given me significant work experience, it has also given me the best work family I could have ever asked for. I find it is very rare to become close friends with co-workers, let alone 8 people who are very different from one another. My co-workers; Christian, Lauren & MeliaLauren, Spencer, Jose, Daniel, Patricia, Lily and Michael, have been my number one support system at work, at school and in my personal life. Learning how to work in a team is one of the most important things you can learn in a job setting and not to brag, but we make the best team. I have also gained the greatest role models; Amy (my boss), Beth, Vanessa, and Abby. 

Lily Spencer ChrisitianI have gained life long friends from this job, and I cannot be more thankful and more appreciative to the Student Ambassador Program, Amy and Vanessa for that. I can say hands down that besides enrolling here at Clark College, becoming a Student Ambassador was the best thing I have done for myself here.

I encourage you Penguins to apply for the Student Ambassador positions for the 2016-2017 academic year. It has been one of the best experience I have ever had. We have applications at the Information Desk and the Welcome Center available to you. If you have any specific questions feel free to contact Amy Tam at 360-992-2770.

Posted by Ambassador Melia

Posted by Ambassador Melia

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

