Clark College Student Ambassadors

Home » Uncategorized » Finding My Summer Internship

Finding My Summer Internship

 

Hey penguins, I hope winter quarter is going well for all of you

. I have been busy this quarter with not only my schoolwork, but also applying for scholarships and summer engineering internships. If you haven’t found out for yourselves already, it’s an intricate process! Internships are essentially seasonal jobs that students can  apply for to gain experience in a field: in my case, electrical engineering.  A lot of engineering students try to get internships during the summer after their sophomore, junior or senior years of their undergraduate degree. I’m hoping to get an internship this year to both gain experience in engineering and find out what I really want to work on as an engineer. Not only are internships a great opportunity for you to find out what you like and don’t like, they also give employers a chance to see how well you work and whether they might be interested in hiring you full-time.IMG_2041

A lot of engineering internships are geared towards engineering students that are juniors or seniors. I am currently a sophomore, so I have not taken a great deal of engineering classes yet, but I have been getting involved in extracurricular engineering projects. One project I’m working on is designing the payload for this year’s Clark College Aerospace Program rocket. This “launch vehicle,” as it’s known in aerospace terms, is going to go to 20,000 feet. Our payload is going to be used to record flight data, such as acceleration and altitude, as well as some scientific measurements like the strength of Earth’s magnetic field and radiation as the rocket goes farther up in the atmosphere. That’s my job. It’s been challenging but very interesting, and I have been learning a great deal about electronics and computer programming.

So far I’ve applied to internships at Intel, HP, Logitech, and a couple other local technology companies, such as WaferTech in Camas. Like I said earlier, there is a lot that goes into applying for these internships. However, anyone can do it if they know where to look. I had great help with my resume from Career Services on-campus. If you need a professional to look at your resume, tips for making a LinkedIn profile, or even someone to help make sure you’re interview-ready with a mock interview, Career Services is definitely the place to go.

Though I don’t know which internships I’ll be accepted into, I’m optimistic that I’ll get an internship this summer. July will be here before we know it. It’s hard for me to believe that by then I will have graduated from Clark College. This is my third year attending Clark, and I have a ton of great memories and lessons I will never forget. It will be really exciting to apply the skills I’ve learned at Clark in the real world. After all, that is what we’re all here for.

Posted by Ambassador Michael

Posted by Ambassador Michael

Leave a Reply

