Clark College Student Ambassadors

Home » Uncategorized » Majoring in History

Majoring in History

History has always intrigued me. There’s a certain joy I get from combing through old Sears catalogs, newspapers, photos and diary entries, many of which are available online. Aside from the fact that the dresses were really pretty back then, the fact that humans have been living both extraordinary and ‘ordinary’ lives for hundreds of years is fascinating. Personally, I find the accounts of the ‘ordinary’ people more interesting.

While creative writing is my top priority, I ultimately chose to be a history major, rather than a writing major (instead minoring in it). I always enjoy the quarter more if I have some old documents to pursue over. And I figure it will help me in my writing, since one of the genres I write is historical fiction.

I’m a dual enrolled student beginning this quarter, taking some credits at Clark, and some at Portland State University. Right now, I am taking two history classes at PSU. I don’t have any left to take at Clark, because the PSU Bachelor of Arts of History doesn’t allow more than 20 credits at lower division coursework. Last spring, I met that limit at Clark. So, all in all, I have taken four history classes at Clark and enjoyed each and every one. They all had different styles and were all ones I would recommend.

Lily as Jane Austin

Lily as Jane Austin

I’ve taken two U.S History classes, one World History class, and Native American History. Native American History, I took in the spring of 2014, and it was a wonderful class. The Pacific Northwest is filled with Native American history, just as every part of the country is. It’s an important class to take, even if some of the content is hard to hear about.

World History was taken with Dr. Anita Fisher, who is a fabulous professor. Dr. Fisher has been teaching at Clark for years, and even if you don’t like history, you’ll like her class. It’s fun and unique. One of the projects we do is having the option of either writing a paper on a primary source or doing a presentation. The presentation we dressed as a historical figure. Dr. Fisher has a huge amount of costumes in the classroom–the classroom is decorated with past projects and has wardrobes filled with costumes and hats. I did my presentation dressed as Jane Austen.

One question history majors often get is “what are you going to do with your major?” and “how are you going to make money?” Contrary to belief, there is actually a wide array of opportunities for history majors. Some of these include researcher, museum curator, teacher, archivist, marketing, management, biographer, lawyer, politician, and even FBI agent. Besides more major specific careers, it’s also a good major to have for general jobs such as admin, information, editing, marketing, and anything with strong writing and/or research skills. To be a history major, you will have to write an endless amount of papers and those papers require research. If you are skilled at that, there are many jobs, much like with an English major that are open to you. It’s a bit of an umbrella major. Personally, I’d like to work in museums eventually, but I am glad that I have a major that will allow me to get entry-level jobs, such as admins, at first. History is definitely a career to consider.

 

Posted by Ambassador Lily

Posted by Ambassador Lily

 

Leave a Reply

