Clark College Student Ambassadors

Home » Uncategorized » Meet Ambassador Michael!

Meet Ambassador Michael!

Hey Clark! My name is Michael and I’m one of your Student Ambassadors on campus. I’m looking forward to representing all of you this year! I am studying engineering here, and I’m planning on transferring to the University of Washington (go Huskies). It’s really cool seeing the new STEM building being built over time; it’s going to be awesome! Right now I’m finishing my associate’s degree for engineering, and I was a Running Start student here for my junior and senior years of high school. Running Start was a fantastic opportunity for me to find out what I wanted to study and also to get engaged with more challenging classes than ones offered at my high school.

Some of my favorite hobbies are listening to music, reading, and hiking. In August, I saw some alternative bands play at the waterfront in Portland, near OMSI. Eight different bands showed up, and the venue was incredible. Next summer, I’m hoping to see a couple more concerts; those can be really fun. When reading, I’m more of a nonfiction reader, though occasionally I’ll get into a good series (Game of Thrones, anyone?) and be hooked. Though I don’t watch very much TV, I am excited to see the sixth season of GoT next year.

My passion outside of engineering is triathlon. I started training two years ago, and it’s something I’ve wanted to do for a while. Learning to swim freestyle well was the hardest part for me, but after that training was relatively straightforward.  This last summer I competed in several local races, and even a national qualifier meet. I can’t train much now because of classes, but I’m planning on racing this summer, and someday I hope to finish an Ironman. Going to the Kona Ironman World Championships would be a dream, but I’ll take things one step at a time. It is triathlon, after all.

Michael

