Clark College Student Ambassadors

Home » Uncategorized » Donating to the Bloodmobile

Donating to the Bloodmobile

IMG_5222

To give or not to give.

Ah, and so the age old question presents itself, should I donate blood to the red cross or not? The answer is yes! When the bloodmobile bus parks itself right in the middle of campus, it is kind of hard to avoid considering giving.

And then there is the age old excuse, ‘But I’m afraid of needles’. Well so am I, kind of. Growing up I never realized I had a problem with needles because my parents would always force me to go to the doctor and get shots. It wasn’t until I got older and had the choice of getting shots & my blood drawn that my phobia of needles came to light. I chose to never do it because I was all of a sudden scared of needles going into my body. Eventually I had to give in and undergo some preventative tests for my safety. It was really difficult for me to sit there and have blood drawn.

Like all phobias, overcoming them makes you stronger. The act of physically having blood drawn leaves your body weaker for a short period of time, but the accomplishment of overcoming my fear helps to revitalize me. The last time that I donated blood was my senior year in high school when there was a blood donation event on campus. I remember that I did not really want to donate because I was afraid, but all of my friends doing it strengthened my urge to contribute. It was painful, and felt like it lasted forever, but hey that goes to show that there is such a thing as positive peer pressure! The best part was that I was able to be excused for all of my PE classes that day. Plus when I got home my parents were proud of me and were super nice (which was very strange) because I had donated. If I could do that day over again I would do nothing different.

Now every time that I see the bloodmobile bus here on the Clark campus I consider donating because I think of all of the people that I will be helping, and possibly even saving. Just to put that in perspective here are a few facts that should inspire you to donate:

-One pint of blood can save up to three lives!
-The American Red Cross supplies about 40 percent of the nation’s blood supply.
-The Red Cross provides blood for patients in approximately 2,700 hospitals across the U.S.
-Eighty percent of the blood donations given to the Red Cross are collected at mobile blood drives set up at community organizations, companies, high schools, colleges, places of worship or military installations. The remaining 20 percent are collected at fixed Red Cross donor centers.
-The American Red Cross works with more than 50,000 blood drive sponsors each year to hold more than 200,000 blood drives, providing convenient locations for people to give blood.

Plus you get a free sticker, it counts as volunteerism and looks good on resumes, it’s a win-win! The bloodmobile is open today until 4p.m., so donate now!

Post by Ambassador Daniel

Post by Ambassador Daniel

Leave a Reply

