Clark College Student Ambassadors

Home » Uncategorized » Career Days at Clark College

Career Days at Clark College

Career Days is approaching quickly and while I am sure many of you have noticed the posters and banners around campus you may be asking yourself “what’s in it for me?” Well, if you attend three or more workshops you will be entered to win a prize! Prizes including an iPad Mini, a Fitbit, and many other items. Career Days began today Monday, April 27th, and will go through Wednesday, April 29th.

Monday’s events include five different workshops that you can attend; no sign up needed! I will be attending the College Transfer Do’s and Don’ts that will be held from 3:00 p.m. – 4:00 p.m. in the Ellis Dunn Room (GHL 213). At this event Clark Alumni will provide valuable insight on how to make the transition from Clark College to the university of your choice.

Tuesday’s events include a Drop-in Resume and LinkedIn Clinic, Speed Dating for Jobs, and an Employer Speaker Panel. The last event on Tuesday sounds really interesting and I wish I was able to attend, but I am committed to be at my internship during that time. However, I will drop in on the LinkedIn clinic—I have wanted to attend the Student Success Workshop on LinkedIn for over a year now, and every quarter the time of the workshop conflicts with my class schedule. Thanks to Career Days I will be able to talk to a career counselor and receive detailed information on how to create, and maintain, a phenomenal LinkedIn profile.

On the last day of Career Days there will be a Job Fair held in Gaiser Student Center from 11 a.m. – 3 p.m. I strongly recommend attending this event and striking up a conversation with an employer that represents your chosen field. You never know where this conversation will lead—maybe you will be offered an internship, or better yet a job. Many of the employers that will be here are currently hiring. There is a separate Health Careers Job Fair in PUB 161. From 3p.m. – 4:30p.m. There you will be able to speak with experts in your field about about which classes are helpful, what companies are hiring, if they have any words of advice before you embark on your career of choice. Read though these sample informational interviewing questions if you have a difficult time coming up with questions of your own.

While Career Services is offering great perks to increase student participation, the benefits of utilizing these workshops can be immeasurable. Even as I push my educational goals further and further out, I see the benefit of speaking with multiple employers, having the assistance of building my LinkedIn account, and learning the Do’s and Don’ts  regarding transferring from Clark Alumni. The people who are presenting and the information they are providing you with is specific to Clark College and the Clark County community.  Like I said before, the benefit of this information is immeasurable.

Of all the events, the Career Days Job Fair, on Wednesday, April 29th, from 11:00a.m. till 3p.m., will be the most valuable. I encourage you to wear your best interviewing outfit and bring your resume! The list of employers is extensive and encompasses all the programs Clark has to offer, so the likelihood that your area of study is represented at the job fair is pretty high. Please click here for a list of the employers that are registered to participate at the job fair.

Post by Ambassador Kandie

Post by Ambassador Kandie

