Clark College Student Ambassadors

Home » Uncategorized » Sneakerheads

Sneakerheads

It is a Wednesday morning and I am sitting here staring at a blank screen wondering what on earth I can write about; and then it hits me. Shoes. Well sneakers to be exact. You are probably wondering, “Huh? What can be ever so interesting about shoes? What exactly do shoes have to do with anything besides putting them on and wearing them? “

Well there are actually many interesting things about shoes. There are shoes for every type of occasion. If you are going on a run you wouldn’t be wearing the same shoes as if you were going on a date. Or at least most people wouldn’t.. The average person (according to my personal in-office survey) has about 3-5 pairs of shoes at any given time. Through personal experiences, I have also noticed that women tend to have more shoes then men. I think we can all agree that most people will have a pair of athletic shoes, casual shoes and work shoes. Most people

That’s where “sneakerheads” come in. As defined by the almighty Wikipedia, “a sneakerhead is a person who collects, trades or admires sneakers as a hobby. A sneakerhead may also be highly experienced in distinguishing between real and fake replica sneakers.” Collecting shoes is really is no different than collecting baseball cards, souvenirs, fishing, or other hobbies. In fact, sneaker collecting attracts people from all different ages and backgrounds and is currently becoming more popular.

Within the sneakerhead world there are multiple dimensions and levels. There is everything from sneaker conventions to sneaker camping to sneaker re-selling and even some sneaker-related violence (over popular releases). There is no given criteria to what qualifies you as a ‘sneakerhead’, heck you can have two pairs of shoes and be a ‘sneakerhead’. Most people who are into sneakers though have dozens of shoes, hundreds even. I have buddies who have hundreds of pairs of Jordans and Nikes. Currently I only have about 30 pairs of Nike’s and Jordan’s, but that number is always fluctuating. You may say that is excessive, but who decides what excessive is? I personally wear all of my shoes. I like to switch it up and never wear the same pair in one given week. Keep in mind that a lot of my shoes I have had for several years and the ability to switch them out often helps keep them in pristine condition.

I hope this has given you a little bit of insight on the ‘sneakerhead’ world. The Huffington post has a very interesting article about raising a ‘sneakerhead’ which you can read here.

Thanks for reading.

Post by Ambassador Daniel

Post by Ambassador Daniel

