Clark College Student Ambassadors

Home » Uncategorized » Clark College Child and Family Studies

Clark College Child and Family Studies

When I chose to come back to school, there was much more to worry about other than books and tuition. I am a single mother of two children. I knew my oldest would be in school while I was in classes, but I had trouble finding someone to care for my daughter, Olivia. Olivia was just shy of one-year-old when I came back to Clark College. Someone had mentioned to me that Clark had a daycare on campus, so I found the facility and started to ask questions. It was really important to me that Olivia developed social skills and I wanted her to be in a place that had diversity and encouraged learning.

Oliva as a brown puppy.

Oliva as a brown puppy.

Clark’s Child Care Center accepts children from 12 months to 10 years. Olivia has been able to participate in the child care program since winter quarter 2012. Now that she is of preschool age, she gets to participate in the annual Winter Performance. The kids have the freedom to pick what they would like to be and what they would like to do. This year she has chosen to be a green donkey and wants to perform “Let it Go.” Last year she was a brown puppy. During the performance supposed to say “Woof,” but stage fright got the best of her so she just smiled widely at the audience and panted.

Olivia has not only excelled while being enrolled in the child care on campus, but having her here has put my mind at ease as well. I am able to drop in whenever I would like, I get to go have lunch with her, and I have the peace of mind that if something happened I am literally steps away from her at any given moment. Being a student is difficult, and being a mom even more so, but having my daughter nearby helps motivate me to stay focused and succeed.

Post by Ambassador Kandie

Post by Ambassador Kandie

